Mike Burr - log

[Charlemagne] Mirror

I wonder all the time, what would "satisfy" me? Some kind of revenge? Seeing you humiliated somehow? Maybe you opening up and apologizing to me? And giving me a chance to apologize (after you inform me what I am apologizing for)

...phfft, that'd be fuckin gay! Hey! Ya'll, we got a fucking queer ass baby over here! This one over here's got "feelings" now. Ha! Someone get thah waah-waah bottle! Yeesh. "ooh, I'm sad". I tell yah, you may as well engage in man-on-man buttfucking, the extent to which that thing you just said is soo gay..!

.........guns!

I wish that I could somehow scrape the scales off of your eyes, and wrench your head around by the ears and make you "look". There is no where to look, you're blind in a way that has nothing to do with eyes. It's called "delusion".

If, as an adult in a position of power, you force a 10 year old to always look on you with astonished admiration at how amazing you are, and that shit continues for decades, you set that person up for a few unhelpful things:

  1. Unless the person he's required to worship is actually somehow actually better than the majority of other people, he ends up with a distorted idea of what is "good" or "admirable" and ends up having a very low bar aspiration-wise.
  2. When the child learns about the world, and your place in it, he has years and years of cognitive dissonance to contend with and try and reason away. Like trying to reason away 1+1=2.
  3. Rubbing everyone the wrong way throughout his adult life: this person doesn't have the same stupid arbitrary, strong opinion as that very admirable person from when I was still forming as a person. I contempt theee!
  4. In the unlikley event that you end up doing something inconsistent with being amazing, admire-er is left with something that just doesn't make any sense. "How could he do/say that incredibly stupid thing? I would never have done that. I saw that coming miles away? Is he stupid? But. But."

Let's take a look at these admirable things: