Mike Burr - log

[game][mind] You are walking through a forrest when you hear a sound...

I have unjustifiable confidence that

Your latest and greatest "Xtreme VR Xperience" would be greatly improved with some smart speakers and some software.

I'm sure I'm not the first to think of this.

Often I listen to (actual) field recordings of fast-flowing water and waterfalls and whatnot. Just to relax. I noticed that if I close my eyes and try to "image myself there" next to the river or waterfall, it doesn't quite take.

What is obviously missing is the very faint but perceivable vibration you feel in your chest. A big waterfall will do this in an obvious way, go witness a rocket launch up close if you want an obvious example. I think it's still part of your preceptory "experience" long after it becomes very noticeable.

Also imagine someone really going at it with an ax to fell a big tree right next to you. You can feel that. If you close your eyes you can still perceive if it's right in front of you or right behind you, because your torso is a 3rd ear.

So, play with speakers. It's fun.