Mike Burr - log

[so-][quoth] opinion <-> theory

Opinions are great, no? They've really helped us along.

Have you ever thought about what the word "opinion" means? Without consulting the official record, I'll take a whack at it.

opinion

An idea or concept that the holder claims to be accurate or true.

That sounds like another word I know: "theory"

theory

An idea or concept that the holder claims to be accurate or true.

Yep! Checks out!

If you don't concede at this point that they are kinda sorta synonyms, then it'd be interesting for you to think a bit about what distinguishes them from one another.

I wish I could do a global word replace and change "theory" in the Science world into "opinion". And change the common use of "opinion" with "theory" in the gabbing moron sphere.

Science:

Chapter 7: Newton's Opinion of Gravitation ...

Morons:

You think we should repeal/enact that law...?? Pfft!

...

Well, that is just my theory.