Mike Burr - log

[suh-SAH-et-ee] High School: Preparing you 4 life

I remember thinking in high school, "holee shit. all these cliques of people are playing dress-up and LARPing (we didn't have that word and we liked it) and just signaling and spewing pretense, all so they could be included in team FooBar."

So. Fucking. Stupid.

And I have always had that feeling about suhSCHaieTee.

But I think it wasn't until just moments ago that I realized, it's not just kids that do that and some adults fall back into that kind of thinking because they are scared or lonely, it is everybody.

Er, I mean, it's a continuum, like a lot of things, but I'd say a good half of the population constitutes 90% of the area under the curve. It's all LARPing, all day long. Is this what happens when we don't have to toil in the fields all day? We run out of things to do and have no choice but to break a chair over someone else?