Mike Burr - log

[ugh] Hey, Asshole

Remember when I used to write these things? I bet I thought it was "therapeutic". Who knows. I have no way of knowing an alternate future.

inb4 "why don't you get over it?", you've never been on the other end of something quite like this, or maybe you are sensitive to criticism about your parenting techniques.

My critiques:

You are just an endless source of criticism about me and everyone else.

I now suspect that you are a deeply self-loathing person. You are way out on the edge of the bellcurve in lots of objective measurable ways. I'm not the nut! You're the nut! I really have no clue who if anyone is nuts. But you've used the people in your life to step on in different ways in order to prop up your own flaccid self esteem.

Contrary to what you think, your frequent strong protesting about microaggressions (ha!) is more telling than you realize.

You are unable to ever be wrong. Ever.

The wrong response will bring forth the bile. Reliably. Not only are your buttons easy to push but you wear your buttons as badges of honor.

Your universal response is "no I didn't!"

What am I supposed to say to this? Go back to talkin bout planes?

Most of the "parenting" you've done is showing off for my benefit.

You're awesome. We get it. My interests are awesome too. I'm sorry my lack of enthusiasm for all your schemes is so upsetting for you. You've got other relationships built entirely around airplanes and politics. You've got those. I'm unable to do all the chants and know all the in-jokes and all that stuff. Brandon? Let's go my feelings?


It's never too late for anything, it just takes courage.

I'm sorry about whatever things you are resentful or angry or embarrassed about. You make it impossible for me to understand what the transgression is, you just want me to know that you disapprove... generally. Probly im a libril.

As it is, your life, at least as on display in front of me, is an endless theater put on for my benefit to show me what kind of opinions I might have to possibly win your approval.

And you just strut.

All you can bring yourself to say is "mom is now taking <medicine-name>'. it seems to help! gee wilkiers, I wish you'd talk to your old ma."

If that's as deep as you go, I don't have any interest. It's unnerving and disturbing for me.

You can claim to have tried to talk to me. I won't TALK to you. What we've always ever done is not talking, it's opinion semaphore. Lot's of "let's see what he says to this..." That's not communicating, that's dancing. I don't like dancing; it's gay.

But I am now transmitting clear information to you. Do you have any for me?