Mike Burr - log

[whoabro][sci][wp] Your space program on a neutron star

I don't know about all the numbers, let's get that out of the way.

The idea of "life" on a neutron star is not new. And is the case with these things: who knows?

What's fun to imagine is a space program for neutron star dwellers. Would there be centuries of development to get your little spaceship 3cm above the surface?

"Orbit"? Well, you are going to age considerably faster than ground control. It will be weird to make a single orbit, renter, parachute into the muon ocean and greet the great-great grandchildren of your colleagues. Poor sad astronaut.

I wonder if the early 3cm launches would have similar relativistic narratives.

But what got me ta' thinking was energy. How do we get to orbit? (or 3km) -- We use chemical energy, as far as I know, 100% of the time.

What I was enjoying speculating about is, I wonder if neutronians would use various nuclear interactions to get their energy. If so, there may be hope for the neutronian space program, as all their methane molecules are long squashed into oblivion.